Virginia Speeding Violation – Reckless Driving

Helped out a young man yesterday who was cited in Virginia for going 92 MPH in a 70 MPH zone. In VA, exceeding the speed limit by 20 MPH or going 80 MPH regardless of the speed limit is “Reckless Driving”, a Class 1 Misdemeanor Offense (permanent criminal record). Penalty: $2,500 fine, up to 1 year jail and a 6 months license suspension. After completing my Defensive Driving Class (approved by VA as a sentence diversion) the Misdemeanor will be dropped the fine reduced to $300 and no suspension. If you find yourself in a similar situation contact me for help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *